9 December 2023


EJU Ordinary Congress


On the eve of the European Club Championships 2023 and to celebrate the 75th EJU Ordinary Congress, the Serbian Judo Federation hosted the Executive Committee and National Federations for the Gala Dinner.

Opening the dinner were President of the Serbian Judo Federation, Mr Ivan Todorov and EJU President, Dr Toth Laszlo.

We would like to continue and always develop our programme. Judo is a very special sport, we learn so much from each other, like respect and from education. We also learn from the strongest and best to become better ourselves, from the Serbian Judo Federation, the incredible hospitality. I wish you all, an unforgettable event, and to all the teams, the best of luck in tomorrows event.

Following Dr Toth, distinguished guest, Director General of the International Judo Federation, Vlad Marinescu, was invited to address the guests and

I have words of gratitude, congratulations and hope, for all of the hard work that you put in to the federations, the athletes from the clubs, who could not represent their nations without you.

Special awards, in appreciation of support and collaboration with the EJU in 2022, were given to the partners and sponsors of the organisation. Present to accept their awards were Essimo, Ippon Gear and Vivatip, however we also recognised Adidas, Zebra Mats, Green Hill, Fuji Mats and Daedo.

The Best European Event of 2022 was awarded to the Georgia Judo Federation for their European Club Championships – Champions League in Gori. Accepting the award was vice president, Davit Kevkhishvili. Year upon year, the Croatian Judo Federation continue to be one of the focal points on the tour, both in EJU and IJF, and so were awarded the Best European Organiser of 2022, accepted by president, Dr Sanda Corak.

The Plaque of Honour was awarded to Dr. Peter Smolders, Head Medical Commissioner, which was followed by the Award for Contribution to the Development of Education in 2022, recipients included Petra Orešković (CRO) and Sanja Delladio (CRO).

Finally, the Fair Play Award was given to the 2023 European champion, Denis Vieru (MDA).


Author: Thea Cowen