17 November 2012

Awards at opening of the U23 European Championships

Awards at opening of the U23 European Championships

In advance of the final block the opening ceremony was held where the former Czech medallists of the European U23 Championships have a clinic to many young judoka. After the ceremony EJU President Sergey Soloveychik awarded the Czech Judo President Jiri Dolejs for his organisation of the event and kind hosting.

In advance of the medal ceremony former EJU Referee commissioner Annie Witvoet (BEL) was awarded for her 18-years of service for the EJU Refereeing Commission between 1992 and 2010. EJU President Sergey Soloveychik and EJU Referee Director Jan Snijders awarded her for her contribution for keeping the rules and development of refereeing.

Also former top athletes who are now the coaches of the current athletes were honoured. Among the coaches many European Champions, World and Olympic medallists and even World and Olympic Championships.
Marco Spittka (GER), Alessandra Giungi (ITA), Bachir Varaev (RUS), Alexander Yatskevich (LAT), Felice Mariani (ITA), Kerrith Brown (GBR), Vitaly Makarov (RUS), 2000 Olympic Champion Giuseppe Maddaloni (ITA) and 1980 Olympic Champion Ezio Gamba (ITA) were recognized for their impressive list of honour.

Watch their performances:
Marko Spittka (GER) was bronze medallist at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, vice world champion in 1997 and Euro Champion in 1992.

Alessandra Giungi (ITA) was triple World medallist and 1991 World Champion, bronze medallist at the 1988 Olympic Games.

Bashir Varaev (RUS) was 3rd at the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul, triple World medallist and four times European Champion from 1987-1990

Alexander Yatskevich (LAT) 3rd at the 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow and triple European Champion.

Felice Mariani (ITA) was bronze medallist at the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal, triple bronze winner at World Championships, and triple European Champion from Italy

Kerrith Brown (GBR) was World bronze medallist in 1987 and Olympic bronze medallist in 1984 in Los Angeles.

Vitaly Makarov (RUS) was triple World medallist and 2001 World Champion, finallist at the 2004 Olympic Games.

Giuseppe Maddaloni (ITA) was Olympic Champion at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games, and double European Champion.

Ezio Gamba (ITA) was 1980 Olympic Champion, 1984 finallist, double world Championships medallist and 1982 European Champion.

Watch the photo gallery here:

Media Matters